Wheeling Jesuit University

Dr. Debra Hull Is WV Faculty Merit Foundation Professor of the Year Finalist

Wheeling, WV, Feb. 6, 2008 - Wheeling Jesuit University Psychology Department Chair, Dr. Debra B. Hull, has been chosen as a finalist for the 2008 Professor of the Year by the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia.

A long time professor of psychology at Wheeling Jesuit, she is known for her strong teaching skills and pleasant, professional manner.

“Dr. Hull exemplifies the philosophy of Wheeling Jesuit Education. She cares deeply for each of her students with a compassionate heart. She demonstrates to her students how to develop a critical mind. She demands excellence from herself and her students, while providing the support necessary to reach the lofty goal,” said Dr. Letha Zook, Wheeling Jesuit's academic dean.

Hull earned a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from Kent State University in 1977 and was licensed to practice psychology in West Virginia in 1979. She earned her bachelor's in psychology from Alma College, Alma, Mich.

Most recently, Hull was selected by Wheeling Jesuit as its 2007 Outstanding Teacher and was honored this past fall at the univesity's honor convocation.

Dr. Hull has received grants to support teaching, student research, and student employment from a number of agencies, including, NASA, the Appalachian College Association, the Psi Chi national honor society in psychology, and the WV Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research. She is a two-time winner of the Wheeling Jesuit University Outstanding Teaching Award and a recipient of teaching awards from the Society for the Teaching of Psychology and the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues.

Each year the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university. Other finalists are Phil O. McClung, professor and director of counseling, West Virginia University at Parkersburg; Montserrat Miller, associate professor of history, Marshall University; Karen M. Steele, professor and associate dean, West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine; and Jerry Bruce Thomas, history professor, Shepherd University.

Interviews with the five candidates were held on January 17, 2008 and the finalists will be honored at a reception at the Governor's Mansion on Tuesday, March 4. The reception will be followed by a dinner at the Cultural Center in Charleston, where the 2007 Professor of the Year will be announced.

The Faculty Merit Foundation was created in 1984 to provide a means to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among the faculties of West Virginia's public and private colleges and universities. Through the Professor of the Year program, the outstanding achievements of those individuals are brought to the attention of the general public.

A $10,000 cash award is given to the candidate selected as Professor of the Year, with smaller awards to the other finalists.

The Professor of the Year award is presented with financial support from United Bank.

Career Opportunities |  Calendar |  President's Welcome |  Offered Services |  Financial Aid |  Campus Directory |  Title IX |  Apply Online

© 2019 Wheeling Jesuit University, Inc. • 316 Washington Avenue • Wheeling • West Virginia • 26003 • 304-243-2000 • Legal
Website Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Datatel