Wheeling Jesuit University

Wheeling Jesuit University Honors Commitment to Academics and Community at Annual Awards Banquet

Wheeling, W.Va. – Wheeling Jesuit University’s faculty and staff formally recognized the hard work of the 2013 graduating class Thursday night at the annual Senior Awards Banquet.

Highlighting the evening was the presentation of the new Communitas award, bestowed upon community members who exemplify WJU’s mission of life, leadership and service and lead visionary community initiatives. Wheeling Jesuit recognized Don Rigby, executive director of the Regional Economic Development Partnership (RED), and Brad Blair, RED board chair, and JP Morgan Chase market president with the Communitas award to begin the awards ceremony.

Wheeling Jesuit will confer 385 students in the class of 2013 at Saturday’s commencement ceremony, making it the third largest graduating class since 1995. The academic strength of the class is also of note, with an average grade point average (GPA) of 3.41 across all graduates.

Awards presented to the outstanding graduates recognized not only academic performance with the highest overall GPA, but also their commitment to the Jesuit mission and dedication to the campus community.

Major awards for the night included the Henry F. Paul Medal, given through the bequest of Emelda Elfrida Paul, for the highest four-year GPA in all subjects amongst Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science candidates. The Paul Medal for Arts went to class Valedictorian Rebecca Olsavsky, a native of Wheeling, and graduate of the Linsly School in Wheeling. Senior class Salutatorian Lucas Lemasters of Steubenville, Ohio was also awarded the Paul Medal for Bachelors of Science candidates.

WJU also recognized the outstanding Student Athletes of the class of 2013. Swimmer Thomas Smith of Tucson, Ariz., took home Rev. Charles L. Currie, S.J. Scholar-Athlete Award, given each year to the graduating senior who has combined athletic achievement with excellence in the classroom.

A complete list of honorees is below.

Student Life Awards

Charles L. Currie, S.J. Scholar-Athlete Award
- Thomas Smith, Tucson, Ariz.

Intercollegiate Athlete of the Year
- Male: Stewart Jones, Washington, Penn.
- Female: Allissa Ware, Jackson Center, Ohio

Campus Ministry
Magis Award
- Christopher Bohinski, Wilkes-Barre Twp., Penn
- Grace Williams, Wheeling, W.Va.

Unitas Et Fides (Unity in Faith) Award
- James Akers, Poca, W.Va.

Student Development
University Activities Award
- Kelley Asbury, Dillonvale, Ohio

Student Government
Edward J. Gannon S.J. Collegian of the Year
- Christopher Bohinski, Wilkes-Barre Twp., Penn

WJU Achievement in Theater Arts
- Christopher Bohinski, Wilkes-Barre Twp., Penn
- Kelley Asbury, Dillonvale, Ohio

Academic Excellence Awards

The Henry F. Paul Medals For Highest Four-Year Averages
- Bachelor of Arts: Rebecca Rose Olsavsky, Wheeling, W.Va.
- Bachelor of Science: Lucas W. Lemasters, Washington, Penn.

Silver Medal for Second Highest Four-Year Average for
- Bachelor of Arts: Shriya Adhikary, Kathmandu, Nepal
- Bachelor of Science: Abby G. Phillips, Wellsburg, W.Va.

Anthony T. Basil Medals for Highest Average in Adult Education
- Highest Average: Stephanie Moore, Triadelphia, Penn.
- Second Highest Average: Melissa Burks, Elkins, W.Va.

Department Awards

Adult Education
BOLD Award
- Jamey New, Chapmanville, W.Va.

Athletic Training
John Tagg Memorials Athletic Training Award
- Mallory Brooks, Vincent, Ohio

Dr. Betty F. Thacter Award for Excellence in Biology
- Vera P. Filatova, Metz, WV

Claude Worthington Benedum Award
- Mr. Christian M. Gomes, Westminster, Md.

Bruno J. Harung Wall Street Journal Award
- Jennifer Elias, Wheeling, W.Va.

Dr. Forest Kirkpatrick Award
- Dillon McManus, Baltimore, Md.

Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry Award by the society of Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh
- Rebecca Haley, Fairmont, W.Va.

American Institute of Chemist Foundation Award
- Matthew Logan, Williamstown, W.Va.

Gamma Sigma Epsilon National Honor Society De Lap-Holcomb Scholarship
- Cassandra Crihfield, Evans, W.Va.

B.S. with Distinction
- Cassandra Crihfield, Evans, W.Va.
- Rebecca Haley, Fairmont, W.Va.

Computer Science/Math
The Indrasena Adluri Award for Achievement in Computer Science
- Matthew Garrison, Moundsville, W.Va.

English, Communications, & Fine Arts
Paul A. Orr Award
- Sarah Creamer, St. Albans, W.Va.

Dorothy Day Award
- Rebecca Olsavsky, Wheeling, W.Va

Outstanding Senior Find Arts Student
- Visual Art: Grace Williams, Wheeling, W.Va.

- Creative Writing and Film Studies: Melissa D. Salyer, Glendale, AZ

- Music and Theatre: Christopher Bohinski, Wilkes-Barre Twp., Penn

Fr. Joseph Kennedy Award & Professor John R. Wack Outstanding History Major
- Erinn Garrison, Moundsville, W.Va.

Modern Languages
Excellence in Modern Language Achievement
- Rebekah J. Flesher, Dillonvale, Ohio

Nuclear Medicine
Edward Mallinckrodt Award of Excellence
- Jaime L. Donato, Boonsboro, MD

Sara L. White Award
- Lindsay Primyon, Sewickley, PA

Life-Long Learning Award for Evening Division RN
- Stephanie Ellenberger, Wheeling, W.Va.

Outstanding Masters of Nursing Graduate Award
- Administration Track: Kimberly Auten, Moundsville, W.Va.

- Education Specialist Track: Ashley Tucholski, Connellsville, Penn.

- Family Nurse Practitioner Track: Melissa Teets, Bruceton Mills, W. Va.

Master of Business Administration
Russell E. Younkins Award
- Michael J. Falbo, M.B.A. Rayland, Ohio
- James L. Sayre, M.B.A. Wheeling, W. Va.

Master of Science in Accounting
Mark W. Bischoff Medal
- Robert Baker, Wheeling, W.Va.

Henry B. Sendaydiego Award in Philosophy
- Emily Martin, Vienna, W.Va.

Professional Education
Elementary Education Student of the Year
- Allissa Ware, Jackson Center, Ohio

Secondary Education Student of the Year
- Rebekah J. Flesher, Dillonvale, Ohio

Gallagher Student Service Award
- Sarah Creamer, St. Albans, W.Va.

Outstanding Psychology Major
- Lucas W. Lemasters, Washington, Penn.

Andrew Scott Wensel Psychology Service Award
- Sierra Moore, St. Clairsville, Ohio

The Maceiko Service Award
- Amy Pinkerton, St. Clairsville, Ohio

Respiratory Therapy
Outstanding Respiratory Therapy Award
- Kelsie Gaus, Moundsville, W.Va.

Social Science
Outstanding Senior in Criminal Justice
- Michael Little, Waldorf, Md.

Outstanding Senior in Political Science
- Thomas Pié, St. Clairsville, Ohio

Outstanding Senior in International Studies
- Shriya Adhikary, Kathmandu, Nepal

International Students
- Mr. Seong M. Kang

Ignatian Honor Seminar
Ignatian Honor Scholars
- Shriya Adhidary
- James Akers
- Catherine Balbier
- Christopher Bohinski
- Sarah Creamer
- Cassandra Chihfield
- Vera Filatova
- Rebecca Haley
- Evan Johnston
- Rebecca Olsavsky
- Allison Santer

Outstanding Senior Ignatian Honors Student Award
- Cassandra Crihfield
- Rebecca Haley
- Allison Santer

Laut Honors Students
- Patrick Chadowski
- Rebekah Flesher
- Jenna Gleason
- Andre Lamyaithong
- Lindsay Primyon
- Grace Williams

Fr. Pedro Arrupe, S.J. Scholars
- James Akers
- Chathrine Balbier
- Christopher Bohinski
- Jenna Gleason
- Eric Knuth
- Ronald Lee
- Grace Williams

Career Opportunities |  Calendar |  President's Welcome |  Offered Services |  Financial Aid |  Campus Directory |  Title IX |  Apply Online

© 2018 Wheeling Jesuit University, Inc. • 316 Washington Avenue • Wheeling • West Virginia • 26003 • 304-243-2000 • Legal
Website Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Datatel